FPIN Editorial Team

The FPIN editorial team is composed of over two-dozen family medicine physician editors with wide-ranging areas of expertise. Their primary responsibility is to edit FPIN member manuscripts for submission into The Journal of Family Practice, American Family Physician, and Evidence-Based Practice. However, the FPIN editors don’t stop there. You will also find them presenting onsite workshops at various residency programs across the country, creating curriculum for our FPIN Institute, collaborating together to improve editorial processes, and making decisions about constructing good clinical questions.


VP of Publications/Executive Editor

  • Timothy F. Mott, MD, FAAFP -  South Baldwin Regional Medical Center FMR

Founding Editor-in-Chief

  • Bernard Ewigman, MD, MSPH - The University of Chicago



GEMs (Good Evidence Matters)


  • Corey Lyon, DO - University of Colorado



HDAs (HelpDesk Answers)


  • Thomas Satre, MD - University of Minnesota

Deputy Editors

  • Sarah Daly, DO - Utah Valley FMR
  • Dylan Eller, BS - FPIN Columbia, MO
  • Matthew Hawks, MD - Nellis FMR
  • Sarah Liegl, MD - University of Colorado
  • David Moss, MD - Nellis Family Medicine Residency
  • Jeffrey Quinlan, MD, FAAFP - Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
  • Matthew Snyder, DO, FAAFP - Nellis Air Force Base
  • Chris Vincent, MD - University of Washington



CIs (Clinical Inquiries)


  • Rick Guthmann, MD, MPH - Advocate Illinois Masonic Family Medicine Residency

Deputy Editor

  • Gary Kelsberg, MD - Valley Family Medicine REsidency

Medical Librarians 

  • Beth Auten, MSLIC - University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Alyssa Peterson, MLIS - University of Oklahoma - Tulsa



PURLs (Priority Updates from the Research Literature)


  • Dean Seehusen, MD, MPH - Medical College of Georgia - Augusta University

Deputy Editors

  • Jennie B. Jarrett, PharmD - University of Chicago
  • Corey Lyon, DO - University of Colorado
  • Anne Mounsey, MD - University of North Carolina
  • Shailendra Prasad, MD, MPH - University of Minnesota


EBP (Evidence-Based Practice)


  • Jon Neher, MD, FAAFP - Valley Medical Center

Managing Editor

  • Adelina Colbert, BSJ - FPIN